Skip to content

Aboriginal communities

We support Aboriginal people to care for Country, share traditional land management knowledge and help protect and strengthen Aboriginal cultural heritage.

We acknowledge that Aboriginal people are the traditional owners of Australia and have practiced sustainable natural resource management and cared for flora, fauna and biodiversity.

Aboriginal people have a strong social, spiritual and cultural connection with their country.

NSW is comprised of numerous Aboriginal nations who have an ongoing responsibility to respect and protect their culture.

The 2011 Census shows that 208,364 Aboriginal people live in New South Wales - this is 31% of the Australian Aboriginal population. In NSW, 95% of Aboriginal people live in regional areas or major cities - unlike any other part of Australia.

Delivering services to the Aboriginal community

Aboriginal communities are identified as key customers for Local Land Services.

Under the Local Land Services Act 2013 we are responsible for:

  • communicating, consulting and engaging with the Aboriginal community
  • including the Aboriginal community, to encourage participation in relation to the delivery of local land services.

Our State Strategic Plan outlines a management strategy specific to the Aboriginal community, which is to: deliver services that support Aboriginal people to care for Country and share traditional land management knowledge.

We have numerous Aboriginal staff and we are working in partnerships with individuals and organisations, both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal to deliver these services.

Our NAIDOC Week edition of Local Links provides an overview of the types of projects we're undertaking with the Aboriginal community.

Cultural heritage in the Murray

Aboriginal people settled in the Murray region over 40,000 years ago. The whole of the environment within which the Aboriginal people live, is their social, economic and spiritual base and all Aboriginal sites are significant in some way. Some are sacred and some are secret.

The region, including its rivers, wetlands and floodplains supports the Nations of the Monaro, Muthi Muthi, Barapa Barapa, Wamba Wamba, Wiradjuri and Yorta Yorta as well as the Aboriginal Land Councils of Albury and District, Balranald, Bega, Brungle/Tumut, Deniliquin, Eden, Merrimans, Moama, Narrandera, Yorta Yorta (Cummeragunja), Wagga Wagga, Wagonga, and Wamba Wamba.